8mo VERY needy after daycare days for 3 weeks now - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-22-2011, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

DD has been going to daycare 2 full days a week since August (I am an unemployed student and DH had some extra pre-tax daycare money we need to use up before the end of the year or we lose it).

She seemed fine until exactly 3 weeks ago, since then ONLY on the nights after I bring her home from daycare she is extremely needy, MUCH more than usual.  Usually she is my happy-go-lucky girl, fine sitting on the floor and exploring/crawling.  Now on these nights she goes from one extreme to the other.  She will be fine for a few minutes, maybe up to 20 minutes then she cries, cries cries gets very upset and needs to nurse.  Many times the nursings are just short snacks like a minute or two, sometimes they don't seem to satisfy her at all and she's still upset. 

Part of it may be teething as both bottom teeth came in starting Sept. and then 4 top teeth came in soon after that and maybe she has more coming.  I thought maybe that her teeth didn't bother her as much on the days that she is with me because she is more comfortable with me, but I'm not sure.  I've also been told she reaches for her ear (I haven't noticed so much but others have) so I had her checked at the chiro the other day, said it was a little red/irritated and I got some Otocalm (we've also had a nasty cold the last 3 weeks which isn't helping, but it's finally getting better this week).