20 week old still feeding twice in night - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 02-13-2012, 12:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello everyone, just after some advice. Is it normal for 20 week old baby still feeding twice in night?
My son is 20 weeks old and most nights he wakes twice to feed, he's formula fed. Every now and again he'll only wake once but most of the time it's twice, it doesn't bother me as I got to bed when he does, at about 8-8.30. What I want to know is it out of hunger or because he's used to it? I feed him every 3hrs in the day, he takes 6oz per feed, he's not on any solids yet. TIA, Terri x

#2 of 13 Old 02-13-2012, 03:27 AM

Well, I have no experience with bottles or formula, but I can tell you that my youngest who is 27 MONTHS is still nursing a couple of times a night. I think that 'normal' is just too hard to define; every baby has his very own normal.

I don't know how you'd tell if he 'needs' the meal physically or if he just wants the comfort of sucking and cuddling...either way I think it's best to meet those very real baby needs!

Sounds normal to me anyway. Enjoy that nighttime snuggling, mama!

Gwen , partner to D ; Mamma to T (6) , J (4) , and baby P
#3 of 13 Old 02-13-2012, 04:45 AM

I think that is very normal.  My daughter went from two night time feeds to one later than that.  She's now 11 months and still gets one bottle during the night except for the rare night here and there when she doesn't.  I think he will let you know when he's ready to eat less.  At her age though I usually try to cuddle and soothe her back to sleep first rather than giving her a bottle automatically, but your guy is very little still.

And keep in mind that all babies are different.  I don't buy the advice out there that says if your baby is X weeks/months old they can't need food at night anymore, that's BS.

#4 of 13 Old 02-13-2012, 05:58 AM