White noise - blessing or curse? (x-posted on Jan 2012 DDC) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 02-18-2012, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)

My 4-week old baby can't seem to stay asleep for long periods of time without white noise.  I have found it to be a lifesaver.  Since I started playing white noise for him he's gone from waking up every 15 minutes during daytime naps to sleeping in 2-3 hour stretches, and at night he's gone from 90 minutes to 5-6 HOURS of sleep in one stretch!!!  

My husband is opposed to white noise and pulled up all these articles that say that white noise is developmentally inappropriate for babies because it interferes with the development of their hearing.  I certainly don't want to hurt my child, but I can't take many more nights of waking up every 90 minutes and spending an hour calming a crying baby.

What have been your experiences with white noise?

Happy housewife and mom to big Z, born at home 1/2012. m/c 07/14 @ 5w and happy to get back to trying!  
#2 of 6 Old 02-19-2012, 07:19 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have used a white noise machine set on "ocean" since my daughter was maybe 6 months old? she's 20 months old and we still use it (it is a lifesaver- though it only increases her sleep time though because it helps to block out noises that would wake her). She only occasionally sleeps for long stretches though (maybe I get one 4-5 hour stretch at night every 6 months, though they've become more frequent the last month or so). I suspect you just might have a baby who will be a better sleeper than mine and his sleep is just developing this way.