Is co-sleeping the right thing? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 36 Old 04-11-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this sight and this is my first question.....here goes!

I am a stay at home dad and my wife and I are practicing a parenting style much different than our parents, which can be a struggle. We cloth diaper, breastfeed, my wife co-sleeps, etc. My only concern is co-sleeping, everything we read on this subject makes us feel like it's the right thing to do. Although I have noticed that my 4 month old daughter is becoming less independent, contrary to the studies we have read. It is a helluva fight to get her to nap, she cries if I am not within her sight, and she wants to be held more now than she used to.

I am now struggling with chores throughout the day, and when my wife is home in the evening I am mentally spent. I don't want to clean or cook.....things are progressively getting worse.

We don't like the idea of letting her "cry it out," but even the pediatrician suggested it.....as well as the many scoldings we've received from our parents and all of their friends. Are we doing the right thing?

Thoughts?

#2 of 36 Old 04-11-2012, 08:17 AM

My thoughts:

• 4 month olds are not independent and should not be. They have good reason to feel insecure if they don't have a parent in sight. Americans (I'm just assuming you are one, maybe not) have a very odd emphasis on independence for babies that doesn't line up with reality. This is reassurance for you that there is absolutely nothing wrong when your 4 month old is not independent and needs you.
  • Babies like to be held a lot orngbiggrin.gif All part of the care of a baby. It goes too quick, actually!
  • All the same, you do not need to be a martyr. It's gotta work for everyone.