First time mommy...HELP! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 05-10-2012, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Sooo...I keep rewritting this because I feel like I have to explain everything, so I'm going to just explain everything first. haha
My boyfriend and I are both 19 and expecting our first baby, both of us are super excited and can't wait for December to get here. We both know that I'm still in my first trimester so we are just planning...no buying anything yet, for obvious reasons, don't want to be heartbroken. Neither of us drive...yet. I'm working on getting my license, and because he caused a bit of trouble a year ago, he can't drive until May of next year, so we both depend on the local bus and my parents to get us places. We live with my parents because he's trying to get work in an extremely small and depressed logging town, and I'm a Freshman in college. Kay...so onto my question.

I plan on buying a co-sleeper that attaches to my bed, it'd be easier to breast feed and it'll be reassuring to look over and see baby whenever I wake up. But I want something that I can bring around the house, to my friends' houses, grandparents, ect. that's easier than packing up a bassinet (my sister had one for her daughter, and I hated it! When I babysat, I just made a babysafe nest on the floor for her) or the playpen/co-sleeper I plan on getting. I looked at moses baskets, but I can't find any that I like. I just can't bring myself to put my baby in a basket. haha I know that my nephew slept in a drawer and laundry basket for the first 2 months of his life, and he's fine...but I just can't bring myself to do something like that to my little sea monkey.

So, my question is...is there something that's easy to move from place to place like a moses basket, but more like a bassinet or something? If not, any opinions on which one I should get that will work with my current situation?