BLW newbie, How do you deal with worried family and friends? - Mothering Forums
Life With a Baby > BLW newbie, How do you deal with worried family and friends?
mennofied's Avatar mennofied 12:56 PM 09-01-2012

I am still new to the Baby-Led Weaning approach of introducing solid foods at 6 months without pureeing anything (our baby is 6mo). One major problem I am having is with the in-laws and at our weekly church suppers. People have yanked food away from our 6 month old baby and said "That's Dangerous!!!" (green bean, banana) When they see him gag it only proves in their minds that this is dangerous! It's tempting to not feed him while we are with other people, or to spoon feed him when we are visiting relatives. I love BLW though, and I feel like if I just knew the right thing to say to put their minds at ease, that they would leave us alone and be amazed. The problem is our baby is still getting the hang of it so he's not so amazing right now. I have to admit it is a little scary to see him take a huge bite and gag on it. I'm really just trying to trust his instincts and ignore my own anxiety. I don't know what to do with other people's! Any advice?

Juvysen's Avatar Juvysen 01:22 PM 09-01-2012

Honestly, I'd only feed him stuff I felt like he could handle when around other people... or not at all until he gets the hang of it better.  It's not worth the stress to you AND family/friends.  I guess it would be different if I was staying with family - at which point I'd explain the entire concept...

Peony's Avatar Peony 01:54 PM 09-01-2012

At 6 months I never have offered  food even daily so it was never a big deal to just not offer food while out. 

Juvysen's Avatar Juvysen 03:28 PM 09-01-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peony View Post

At 6 months I never have offered  food even daily so it was never a big deal to just not offer food while out.

Same here.

CascadiaMama's Avatar CascadiaMama 04:03 PM 09-01-2012