When to go to her... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 11-04-2012, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello Moms (and any Dads out there)!

I am new to Mothering but had a question to ask the more seasoned mommies out there.

My LO is 2 weeks and right now, we are struggling to get sleep here and there. Pretty standard stuff. My question is when should I pick her up out of her bassinet?

We believe in attachment parenting but are not sure if we should pick her up at the first sign of fussing or if we should wait until she begins to actually cry before we go to her.

It seems obvious but sometimes she fusses lightly only to fall back asleep on her own, something we don't want to interfere with. But are we harming her emotionally by making her cry out for us? Please understand that she only needs to begin to cry lightly before we are going to pick her up, not making her cry out for a period of time.

Thanks in advance for the advice smile.gif

#2 of 14 Old 11-05-2012, 06:34 AM

I have a ten second rule. If she starts fussing, I wait ten seconds before getting her. If she is going back to sleep then she doesn't fuss nonstop for ten seconds. If she needs me then ten seconds doesn't get her THAT upset. If she keeps starting and stopping then I get her on the third round since she's not going back to sleep anyways. This system has served us pretty well since infancy and at 19 months it's still a good compromise. Other babies have different rhythms I'm sure :-)
Turquesa likes this.
#3 of 14 Old 11-05-2012, 08:31 AM