3 Month Old Driving Me INSANE- Perhaps advice of parents with precocious baby might prove invaluable - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi Everyone,

As you can tell by the title, I'm a ftm. I have very little generational experience passed down to me from mother and grandmother or even in laws- I'm alone. My ebf three month old has been tracking with eyes since birth, rolling since day 2, lifting his body first month and babbling my ears off today.  He is extremely energetic and seems to require a certain amount of stimulation in the day of which I feel I never provide enough. He is a lovely baby but never seems to want to nap! He also wakes up multiple times in the night. This is no good for me. What can I do to help him find some peace in the day? Will he grow out of this? I am at my wits end here and return to school in about less than 3 months. In very humble words - HELP!!

#2 of 9 Old 10-10-2013, 04:48 PM

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)

Most babies that age wake multiple times a night and napping is often infrequent or inconsistent at that age because babies don't really start to organize their sleep until around 4 months.

I had a very strong (though not necessarily "precocious") baby.  She was holding her head up and moving it independently at birth.  But she would not tolerate being put down, whether in a swing or bouncer.   We got very good at babywearing.  She napped in the sling or the moby on long walks (which were also great for stimulation).  But generally, a baby that young doesn't really need a lot of stimulation.  Sing to him, talk to him while you do your own work, and spend time outdoors (gardening, walking the dogs, whatever) and he'll get all the stimulation he needs.