Topponcino (Montessori sleeping pad) experiences: did it work? SIDS concerns? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 11-26-2013, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

After DD was well past the age of needing to be put down asleep, I read about the topponcino, or a pad/pillow you carry babies in, that also helps with transferring them from your arms without waking them up. It would have been a lifesaver if I'd known about it with DD! Now that we're having another baby in January, I want to try one--just wondering what others' experiences were with them? Did you worry about the surface being too plush for a baby to sleep on?

http://thefullmontessori.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/topponcino/

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 11-27-2013, 06:54 PM

Now I'm intrigued, too. I had a serious unsleeper last time and couldn't transfer him at all.

I'm sure the "back to sleep" advocates would say it's unsafe, but I can't seem to find any negative reports.
#3 of 5 Old 11-28-2013, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter

Yeah, I'm guessing the main concern would be the baby somehow wriggling under it? I dont think the pad itself is super fluffy. I think I'm definitely going to try it, but would love to hear from those who have used it before!

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#4 of 5 Old 03-03-2014, 07:24 AM