• 1 Post By christianyvonne
  • 1 Post By head4thehills
  • 1 Post By cynthiamoon

#1 of 19 Old 08-13-2014, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
working from home with a baby- insanity~

Has anyone been successful with this!? I'm a writer and I work from home...Today I had conference call that I planned my schedule around and asked my mother in law to watch my 3 month old during that time. Then, all the sudden, the call got pushed an hour earlier and I am scrambling trying to get her to come over while the baby SCREAMS her head off because shes tired and grouchy and likely senses my growing panic...I ended up calling in late, losing the call, calling in again...all while dealing with a screaming baby and trying to keep the phone on mute and nurse at the same time while taking notes. & my mother in the law in the background looking at me like i was crazy & trying to take her away from me, when i knew nothing would soothe her but being nursed and i couldnt hear over the screaming anyway! argh. of course she nursed happily and fell asleep RIGHT as the call ended. sigh.

do you any of you moms work from home? how do you manage? im considering a nanny but its such an expense and frankly if shes crying in the house, im not just gonna sit in my office and let the nanny deal...ill go grab her and not be working anyways so its a waste of a lot of money? i have to work so quitting isnt an option at all.
applejuice likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 19 Old 08-13-2014, 03:17 PM

Location: Where creepy facebook-featured threads can't find me
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
I don't honestly think one can realistically work from home and also care for an infant or toddler. It only gets harder as they get older. At the very least you might consider some nanny time for a set period a week and schedule your calls then. Over time, your childcare provider will be better able to soothe your infant.
#3 of 19 Old 08-14-2014, 07:16 PM