Mothering Forum banner

I am interested in creating a new product for bottle feeding

678 views 2 replies 2 participants last post by  SeniorDesignStudent 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all,
I am a senior design student majoring in Electrical Engineering with a minor in Mechanical Engineering. Our team has come up with a concept that we feel any parent would find useful, but we need to poll a lot of people to get feedback on our product.

Our concept is to design a baby bottle that has three main features:
It mixes well enough to blend formula, but of course could be used with milk.
It heats the liquid inside the container to the proper temperature.
It is fully portable, with a rechargeable battery that you plug in via a cell phone charger. This ideally would maintain liquid at the proper temperature for roughly two hours without needing to be plugged in, or a shorter time if cold liquid is put in it.

There are bottles that offer heating and portability, mixing and portability, or mixing and heating, but we haven't found any that offer all three. Most parents are forced to choose a bottle that heats, and then hand shake the bottle or rely on on of those huge wands that mixes it for you. If you have seen a product that does all three PLEASE LET ME KNOW, and a link would be very helpful. Please remember, I'm not talking about a counter top unit, this is fully contained within the bottle.

Here are the questions I need to have answered, if you could please help me out:

1) Would this product be a convenience for you?
2) How much would you pay for this product, assuming it worked well?
3) Are there any features that you can think of that would be more important than mixing, heating and being portable, assuming that safety has also been considered? If so, what are they? Please remember that size, weight and cost of production are major factors.
4) Would this be a product you would buy for yourself, would you buy it as a gift, or both?