Chamomile tea for babies - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 01-07-2006, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know I read somewhere that you can give babies chamomile tea, but does anyone know how much or at what age you can do this? My girl gets fussy and I wonder if this would sooth her a little.
#2 of 8 Old 01-07-2006, 05:50 PM

When a babes teething you can soak a wash cloth in chamomile tea and freeze it. I've never heard of giving them striaght tea to drink tho. Im interested to see what other mamas say.
#3 of 8 Old 01-07-2006, 06:13 PM

I give ds chammomile tea to relax him. You just don't give it at regular strength-I use 1 teabag (or 1/2 Tbsp if loose) per 16 oz of boiled water. I let it sit to room temp, or you can use 8 oz. boiled/8 oz cool water. Whatever you prefer. I've been giving it to ds for a few months now.
#4 of 8 Old 01-08-2006, 03:35 AM

Jack William get camomile a few times a month (when he is just beside himself) I brew it full strength and give it in a sippy...we also give herbal infusions (nettle, red clover, linden and oat straw this way) camomile seems to settle his body and get him ready for a good long nursing in the late afternoon or evening

-Lori
#5 of 8 Old 01-08-2006, 11:48 AM
Banned

We give it to our dd all the time.. even as a tiny infant (per suggestion from our midwife)...it works great with no ill effects at all to our knowledge...

We brewed it full strength too and used loose chamomile flowers (purest way) and when she was tiny we would give it to her in a dropper.. maybe 1 or 2 droppers full...

Now we do the cold chamomille washcloth thing a pp mentioned and sometimes if I am drinking a cup myself, I will let the last sip or two cool down to lukewarm and she drinks from the cup...

I think it is a miracle flower myself it really seems to mellow us (her, me dh) all out
#6 of 8 Old 01-08-2006, 01:39 PM