Yet another nap problem post! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 04-03-2007, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Please give me any ideas you have on getting my DD (4 months) to nap longer. For the past three weeks she won't nap for more than 30 minutes at a time. Usually, though, her naps only last about 20 minutes. This wouldn't bother me if I thought it was enough for her, but it's obviously not. She's only happy for about 15 minutes after a nap, then gets extremely fussy and wants to nap again. This is really driving me nuts!
#2 of 14 Old 04-03-2007, 04:20 PM

Hi there. I am new to mothering.com but I have a 3 year old child and another on the way. We had lots of sleep problems with our first and I found that he has a 1 hour cycle that he usually wakes from and it was difficult to get him to sleep past the first cycle. I had success by going in and putting my hand lightly on his head or snuggling up very quietly and he would go back to sleep. Eventually he grew out of his sleep difficulties and started napping for 3 hours! I think sometimes it is just a growing into knowing how to sleep issue. I sympathize though since we were in the same boat worrying about sleep deprivation and such. If I can remember more of what we did I will add more.
Oh, it also made a big difference to make the room dark when he was young.
#3 of 14 Old 04-03-2007, 04:34 PM

Can you nurse her back to sleep when she first wakes? Sometimes Ingrid will wake after 30 minutes, and I know she needs longer, so I just lie down and nurse her and she drifts off again. Also, she can sometimes put herself to sleep, so if she is not fussing, I often leave her alone to see if she will fall asleep again.

I think 20-30 minute naps can be fine sometimes, too. Obviously, Simi needs some longer ones, too, though...

mama to Ingrid (11/06) and Louisa (5/29/09):
#4 of 14 Old 04-03-2007, 04:53 PM