stood up for play date !?! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 06-19-2007, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So what do you do with your self when you are trying to get involved in a play group, an AP play group, you set up an activity, people say they will come and then EVERYONE stands you up. UGH! No calls to cancel, one email from one mother... the rest are a no-show.

I feel so rejected.

And I spent some energy telling 10mo ds that "people" were comming over to play. I can't imagine how I would explain this to him when he is older. Luckily it is going right over his head now.

I just feel so yucky that my attempt to socialize, beyond my comfort zone, for him, have been thwarted.

:

Tea drinking Momma::: Grady 8/06 and : Coralynn 8/09
#2 of 16 Old 06-19-2007, 01:14 PM

hugs, mama. I totally hear you about going beyond your "comfort zone". I am not very good at being socially proactive and making things happen with new friends. I would have been pretty upset in your place, but I'm sure it was nothing personal. I don't know how many times I have planned on going to a LLL meeting or something, and then just didn't have the energy to make it out of the house that morning--my ds is about 10 1/2 months old.

ETA: I just saw that you are in Clayton, and your ds is only 2 weeks younger than mine! I'm in Durham--wish we were a bit closer

Zoe, mama to one "rough and tough" dude (8/02/06) and one new sweet pie (4/11/10)
#3 of 16 Old 06-19-2007, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter

Hey Zoeanne
Maybe sometime we could meet up at a museum...

I gotta tell you I'm totally bummed, I ate all the cookies and carbs I could find for lunch. Isn't that sad...

Trying not to take it personally... kinda want to cry an dI know I'll find out the other moms had dc probs that got in the way... I "know" it isn't personall but .. yuck!

Tea drinking Momma::: Grady 8/06 and : Coralynn 8/09
#4 of 16 Old 06-19-2007, 01:22 PM