Anybody else bring their baby to work? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-07-2003, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't even know if there's an acronym for it...I feel like I have a lot in common with WAHMs, but not everything. I'm just really frustrated today. I've been bringing dd to work for five months (she is 7 mo) and I work around 15 hours a week. Lately I can barely get anything done...I used to be able to just nurse her or have her sleep in the sling but she wants to play or fuss or be on my lap playing with the phone the whole time.

I just got an Ergo and it's working pretty well, but I work at a computer most of the day and she gets bored on my back. DH can watch her sometimes for night meetings, but he works FT.

Any suggestions? I'm planning on getting a college girl to watch her at my work this fall so I can still nurse her when she needs it, for maybe 6 hours a week or so. But I still will have her with me most of the time.

TIA!
Peace,
Beth
ps right now she is on the floor (for the moment) trying to use the computer as her busy box...argh!
#2 of 4 Old 08-07-2003, 02:39 PM

OMG, do I hear you!!! I have been working 10-20 hrs/wk since ds was 3 mos old. At first, my dh had one day a week off from work to watch him, but we canceled that b/c most of the time none of my clients (I do post-adoption home-visiting) could meet with me that day anyway. Well, he is now almost 1, and I have been pulling my hair out for the last few months. I do a lot of work from home, and can do it during naps or when dh is home, but as far as actually meeting w/ my clients during the day, going to team meetings or staff meetings...urgh.