Gripe water? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 12-05-2007, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My baby is now 12 days old. He has a couple of bouts per day (or night... we never know when it will hit) of what is clearly gas pain. Also he gets the hiccups frequently. How safe is gripe water, does it really help, and am I over-reacting when he only has gas a couple times a day? Or is that a lot? He's my first baby, so I have no other experience to compare it to.

It just makes me so sad when he cries and cries. I don't want to dose him if it's unnecessary, but also if there's something safe that can ease his gas pain I'd like to try it...

I'm interested in hearing about people's experiences with this stuff, if it's safe, etc. Thanks!
#2 of 17 Old 12-05-2007, 08:09 PM

First off, if you're bf, I'd try rulng out everything that causes typical allergies and irritants in young babies. I don't recall what those foods are because I never had a problem, but I'm sure there are threads on here about it somewhere.

Second, gripe water used to be my best friend. You want to get the kind without sodium bicarbonate in it because it disrupts the natural pH of your baby's tummy and can make matters worse in the long run. it's totally safe and usually just contains things like ginger and fennel.

I had a friend who's baby was terribly gassy and she used mylicon. she swears by it.
#3 of 17 Old 12-05-2007, 09:16 PM

We used gripe water (Baby Bliss) when our baby was about 3 weeks old. We would have used it sooner but their site said not to use it until the baby was 7 pounds and she was a small baby. It didn't seem to help until about 5 weeks old tho. We still use it sometimes when she has a tummy ache.
#4 of 17 Old 12-06-2007, 01:08 AM

check this out:

http://www.slate.com/id/2158605/