Mothering Forum banner

"feeling the presence of the baby" (rant)

691 views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  PicnicBear 
#1 ·
Why have 2 people (who I love and are so supportive) asked me recently if I could "feel the presence of the baby" in a way that sounded like they were excited for me to say "yes". Let me tell you how I have been feeling the presence of the baby -- throbbing headaches almost everyday for the last month, another minor but annoying health issue, and also canceling plans for a trip to Greece -- I am NOT resentful of the baby for "doing these things to me" BUT I have just been rather consumed by trying to make my own self comfortable while keeping up with responsibilities. I have never been either a very spiritual person or someone who is in touch with energies. DH is a self-taught reiki "master" to use the term loosely. Some people have these gifts but I believe that I have others and am 100% devoted in everyway to the baby and plan to become a SAH mom after completing my PhD within the next year. I am a scientist and a very practical rational, rather than emotional/feeling person. No one doubts my committment to the baby but I do find these questions about feeling the presence of the baby odd and somewhat intrusive. This is my first pregnancy so I guess these are some of the weird comments that one has to get used to, oh, and also being told I don't "look pregnant" since I am very petite and this is my first -- it is hard to tell, but so what!
:

Thanks for reading if you made it this far. I feel better to have it off my chest!

Does anyone else not "feel the presence" or am I the only "out-of-touch" one?

See less See more
#2 ·
Rant away- this is the place for it

I only wish people would ask me something like that- the only thing people have asked me is if I'm planning to get an epidural and how soon.