Thinking about CDing - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 05-31-2006, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
OK, I have thought about Cding for a long time. I have some questions for experienced mamas.

Has anyone started out w/disposables & then changed to CD? How was the transition? Do clothe leak all the time or does CD now days keep up w/the leaks? What about the laundry - do you have to do it all the time? I just have to make sure that if I invest in CDs I use them.

Any insight?

Rachel~wife to Keith since 5/01~mother to Georgia since 4/04~Bishop since 1/06~Zoe since 11/07 (my HBA2C!)~EDD 2/14/10 w/Baby surprise #4
#2 of 12 Old 05-31-2006, 06:08 PM

rachel-

i don't have much insight because we did diaper service with ds1 and do ec with ds2, but hopefully someone here can answer your questions. if not the women over in the diapering forum are amazing and i know they'll be able to answer questions!

good luck!
#3 of 12 Old 06-01-2006, 01:41 AM

i used sposies last week and they leaked way more than my cloth ever do.
i mainly use fuzzbunz, which are pockets.
my laundry is every 3 days. i wash once on cold with baking soda (about 1/2 c.) and some vinegar in a Downy ball. then i was on hot with about 2 tbsp. of Tide (regular tide, not the kind with anything special). i dry everything together except the covers i hang to dry on a hanging thing in the kids bathroom that has a large window.
any stains get put on the hanging thing too and they sun out really well.
i dont use anything else.
once you get used to doing cd's every 3 days, all your other laundry is caught up b/c you dont want a back load! my laundry is super efficient now.
i HATE sposies compared to cd's....really i do.
if you get them...you will use them if you dont have sposies around.
most of my cd's i got from the TP. most were in like new condition.