New SAHM and very confused - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-23-2010, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone Im new at being a SAHM..well been home for about 2 months now. I have 4 children and one due in October. Their ages are 6,5, 20 months,and 7 months. I was working overnights and hubby decided it would be best for me if I stayed home with the children...which I didnt mind...its been my dream since I had my first child but we couldnt afford it. Now we can and Im here at home..

ANYWAYS..........Im just kinda confused on how my schedule is suppose to work...it seems i dont have time for ANYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!, I go to bed LATE, get up early, cant keep up with the homeschooling or the house cleaning, got loads of yardwork that needs to be done...feeding the kids, etc etc and thats not even running errands and other stuff I am doing. Please share with me how ur days are, what time u wake up or go to bed, when u fit everything in, Schedules, tips, advice, whatever u can help me with!!! I feel like my home is messier than when I was working, I have no time to plan homeschooling! I am just completely LOST!

High raw Vegans Mommy to 5!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2010, 11:22 AM

I can't speak to the homeschooling stuff, but hopefully I can help w/some of your other needs. Forgive me if this is too simplistic:
1. Don't try to be perfect.

2. Learn how to prioritize - Ask what has to be done NOW, then what has to be done TODAY, then this week. Make a list. Mine's on a greaseboard I can see from anywhere in the kitchen/living room. That way you won't forget what you thought was important when you had a clear head (if you ever get to have one with all those LO's running around).

3. Give yourself a stop time, such as, "Unless someone's bleeding, throwing up, or we'll all end up naked tomorrow, I'm not doing housework (or whatever) past 7pm."