Has anyone ever started a "meetup" group? (or been a member?) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-04-2010, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm thinking of starting a mamas group for crunchy mamas. My current city is pretty remote, and we have a few more mainstream mom's clubs here already. But I've never done this before, and I know no one here! So just wondering if anyone has done this before? Is it weird to start a "group" of just me, and hope someone joins? Would it be off-putting to call it a crunchy group? I really want to meet mamas who are at least semi-crunchy. What are dues for? Are they to make sure that only sincere members join, or do you actually use them toward activities? Where do you meet, like at my house or somewhere else? What other things does the group leader need to do?

Thanks for the help mamas. I know you'll point me in the right direction.

oh....p.s. if I am moving soon (unknown due to DH's job) is it bad to start a group that I might have to leave in the coming months?

Mama to Fenergy.gif(06/11/09) and baby boy C baby.gif (06/09/11) 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2010, 03:16 PM

I was part of a few meet-up groups when I was in Portland, Or. Here they have nothing right now either.
The only problem I had was that some of the groups charged way too much IMO because they were so small. I know the costs were to offset the fees from the meet-up and other hosting sites, but I was not willing to join any groups that charged more then $10 a year unless they were providing more then just the organizing for the group. For example there was one that I thought about joining, but they wanted $25 a year and just met at local parks for playgroups.