DH/inlaws make me feel like @#$% for SAH - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-08-2010, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay, I have been doing the hardest job of my life for 5+ years now and can't seem to catch a break from anyone. No one--including my own DH--seems to have any appreciation, respect, or sympathy for me staying at home with my children. My DH recently got upset when I brought up the prospect of sending my child to a school that is a hybrid of traditional schooling and homeschooling because it would require me to stay home (at least part time) for another 5 or so years. I was not planning on working full time for that amount of time anyway since we have a young toddler at home now and might have another child. Anyway, my husband seems hellbent on getting me to work full time soon when we have a much more than adequate income from his (very secure) job already and, with my training, any job I get will add less money than it's worth to go back. His relatives all look down their nose at me because apparently they think I've been sitting on the couch watching soaps and eating ice cream for the past 5 years. They ask me when I'm going back to work like I've been on vacation all this time.

I've come to the end of my rope. I'm exhausted, and get nothing but complaints and disrespect from everyone. What can I do? If things don't improve soon, I may have to go back to work--as a single mom (*crying*).
#2 of 8 Old 09-08-2010, 03:50 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)