sahms, what do I do? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 11-08-2010, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, mommas.

I'm currently an overwhelmed student mama with two part-time wahm/wohm jobs, a homeschooling 7yo dd, and a 3.5mo ds. I am realizing that my current situation is not working out.

I was a sahm for most of my pregnancy, and then received two "great opportunities" for work, and started a new semester of online classes soon after the baby was born.

Now both jobs are not cracking up to be all they promised, and I'm really feeling torn and resentful because I just want to really dig in with my kids

My dh was unemployed which was part of my motivation in working, but now he has a pretty promising "temporary" position which he'll probably be able to transfer into something permanent.

One job is just one night a week, and the kids stay w/ dad, but I have to do a lot of prep stuff during the day when dh is away, and I simply cannot get out there (I have to work in the cold garage, my "studio") to work for any period of time with the baby---as soon as I get started, he wakes up from a nap, etc. So this is my fun job but less stable, my contract goes month to month.

My other job is more stable and I make more $, but less fun, more bureaucratic, less self-led, and in general just lately. I was originally hired while pg with the understanding that I would be able to bring the baby until he was 6mo; well they reneged on that and though I can bring him in for really short (like 15 min to drop off mail), now my boss is asking me to do 4 hr. inservices sans baby.

We have no real family support for daycare . . . I guess I'd feel different if I could drop them off with gramma for a half day.