I feel like I'm not contributing... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 29 Old 11-30-2010, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Let me start by saying I love being a SAHM to my almost 8 month old. I have wanted to be a mom all my life, and I am grateful that we are able to afford it and that I have a supportive DH. However, I have worked since I was 16. I have a master's degree and I worked very hard to get to where I was in my career before DS was born. I always prided myself on being independent and providing for us. I feel very lucky that we are mostly able to afford our previous lifestyle, but at the same time, I feel like I'm not contributing and DH is working much harder than he had to before. I was making a great salary, now I'm making nothing. It's not really about money, I am ok with the small sacrifices we have had to make, but I feel like I am not doing enough for my family, in addition to feeling like I abandoned my career and will be starting over when I do return to work. It took about 3 years for me to find a position I really liked, and leaving it behind was a little sad. Being with my DS is more important that any of that, but the transition from full time professional to SAHM has been kind of a culture shock. I guess more than anything I feel out of the loop and a little lonely. Everything I do, think about, and talk about revolves around parenting. I have thought about getting a part time job, but it's not really what I want either. Any advice from those who have BTDT, as far as the transition, and concerns about the future state of your career?

BettinaAuSucre likes this.

Mom to Kevin,bfinfant.gif : born naturally 4-7-10 nocirc.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 29 Old 11-30-2010, 03:14 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

That is a great picture of your DS.  Love it.