Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Stay at Home Parents (http://www.mothering.com/forum/329-stay-home-parents/)
-   -   Trying to stay at home (http://www.mothering.com/forum/329-stay-home-parents/1284427-trying-stay-home.html)

kilamonster 12-08-2010 07:20 PM

I have a 3 year old and I'm due with our 2nd in March.  My son is currently in full time care at a wonderful Montessori School which he loves and is doing great in.  I've always wanted to stay home but we haven't been able to afford it until this coming year.  I'm an elementary teacher and I'm always concerned about being on top of his education and what he is doing so that he has less of a chance of struggling in school. (I see children who are struggling everyday and it scares me).  Anyways, I worry that if I stay home I won't be challenging enough for him or that I won't be enough for him.  I can't afford to stay home and put him in the program (even half a day).  So I guess my question would be:  What would you do?  Do you stay home and take him out of the school?  I feel like this is a silly concern but it is what I keep thinking about.

Smidge 12-08-2010 07:25 PM

For me, staying at home is the most important.  I know how to challenge my children best because I know them best.  I know their weaknesses and strengths and use those to teach them :)

Reebekah 12-08-2010 08:25 PM