how can I get WOHP to parent when home? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-11-2011, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am a SAHM and student working (or trying to) on a PhD. My DH works 42-45 hours a week 4 days a week. Usually he has 2 days in a row and another single day off each week.

When he is at work I take care of almost the entire household (with the exception of taking out trash, some dishes, and some times cleaning the cat boxes). This is fine with me.

The problem is that I have asked for a bit of a break when he is home -- carry the baby a bit, maybe let me do some school work, play with babe, let me sleep in, get more comfortable bathing her, learn how to put her to sleep, etc., and generally I have no reprieve.

Yeah, he lets me sleep in a bit, but I only ask when she is up 7+ times a night (4-5 is normal and I can deal with it, but 7 or more, I just am a wreck). He also does some things around the house and will play with her, read to her, carry her, etc. but it is generally my job. I eat with her on my lap (or back, or hip). I cook with her on my hip or back. I do dishes with her on my back. Even when he is home, I barely ever can even go to the bathroom without her. But he just can't seem to parent and do other daily life things. And even when I remind him in the morning that I need him to try to take the lead in parenting that day, by lunch I am the one parenting (and cleaning, and cooking, and taking care of the cats, etc. etc. etc).