New to SAH and freaking out - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 01-24-2012, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been working part-time since my DD was born 7 months ago, while she stayed home with DH during the afternoons. It was a wonderful arrangement but unfortunately things have to change. I'll be quitting and staying home with her in a couple weeks. Logically, it is the best choice for our family, and the right thing. Emotionally, I'm just freaking out. About finances, about identity, about self worth, about quitting a great job in this economy. So, how did you start? What bumps / learning curves?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 01-24-2012, 01:52 PM

I lost my job due to a grant being cut when I was pg with DS1. So I worked a part time temp job during this time of pregnancy and did not work when they were little. 

Enjoy it!  I now have to work as a single mom( I was married back then) and I miss it so much!  I wish I had appreciated it more.  But HERE

1. take time for yourself- sounds like your dh will watch your dd so let him- go for a walk take a bath- go for coffee.

2. Meet other stay at home moms

( places to do this- mom and me, churches etc... can't remember names but there are things going on where you can meet other women, we formed a group when my kids were little where we went to the park and had a playdate one certain day of the week.

3. Join the What's for dinner thread and get cooking.... I wish I had taken more time to cook delicious meals when I had the time back then-

4. Love that baby!  She will grow up so fast!

5. As for finances- go over it with your dh- see what you can cut out- sell some stuff figure out what you can do from home etc.