I make no judgements - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-22-2013, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 211 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)

This article really rang true for me and I simply wanted to share it if you all have not seen or read it yet. What the mother describes as her family being her"favorite" made me cry and I also feel that my family is my favorite too. Any thoughts? That's all

http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-954169?hpt=hp_c3

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-22-2013, 07:18 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I think many of us "lean in" to motherhood primarily because after maternity leave it's just so hard to contemplate not seeing that precious one year old (or much younger for some moms) for 40 hours a week. I am a big cheerleader for professional moms but for me while my kids are tiny, I strongly feel that motherhood IS my profession and that no DCP, however loving and attentive can give them exactly what I can and no job on earth could give me what I'd be missing. I just think of the daily routine of my toddler and realize I'd spend maybe 3 waking hours with her each weekday and I just can't do it. If we had trouble making ends meet, it would be a necessary sacrifice but we are fortunate enough to get by on DH's income. We have modest housing and transportation and try to be conscientious with spending and sacrifice other things to make it possible. My family is definitely my favourite. It's not always easy and often downright frustrating but for every meltdown there are a dozen hugs that balance things out. I think whether I go to work at 34 or 38 won't make as big a difference as whether I'm home with my kids through the toddler years. Just my thoughts, kudos to all the strong, working mamas out there!
Old 04-23-2013, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by skycheattraffic View Post

kudos to all the strong, working mamas out there!

truedat.gif yep.

Old 04-23-2013, 08:34 AM