Any other isolated SAHMs? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 08-30-2005, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a SAHM, living in the 'sticks'. I don't drive, so I'm pretty isolated. I like it, but some days I think I'll go insane. Play groups aren't an option for me, and I don't know anyone around here (I'm not good at making friends). Any other mamas out there like me? How do you handle it? What do you do with your DC all day?
#2 of 17 Old 09-02-2005, 07:47 AM

Well, if Switzerland qualifies as the "sticks" then I'm right there with you! In my case it's more a cultural/linguistic isolation but it still isn't fun. But being stuck in the middle of nowhere is tough...I think I wouldn't do well in that situation either.

What works for my son and I is to focus on the good things that are here and that I have control over. There is beautiful countryside all around us and so we get out into it everyday. I rely much more heavily on the internet than I would have ever imagined! For me, it's no subsitute for the real thing but it's often enough to keep my sanity!

Maybe you could find someone within driving distance who wouldn't mind coming to you. There are so many mamas out there wishing they had somewhere to go!

good luck.

Blissed out mama to 3 beautiful boys love.gif LIFE IS GOOD! thumb.gif

#3 of 17 Old 09-02-2005, 01:34 PM

I was in that situation when my ds was smaller, now we are in town but it's not much better. I don't have a car most days (dh needs it for work) and I am in a new city where I don't realy know anybody. I wish I had some advice for you but sometimes I feel like I'm loosing my mind.

You're not the only one!

Let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and humility, mirth and reverence within you.)0(
#4 of 17 Old 09-02-2005, 02:42 PM

We are rural and isolated. I also don't drive. We save outings and errands to do as a family.