Bored and Lonely - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 10-01-2005, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been a SAHM now for a year and a half and I'm still having a hard time getting over being bored and lonely. One of the biggest challenges for me is that I am bored by the stuff my DD wants to do all day like play legos and read the same books over and over again and color, etc. When I worked I worked in the computer field and solved really hard problems and dealt with a lot of people all day, even after all this time to adjust I'm having a hard time tolerating endless toddler games. I WANT to be the type of mom who does all this cool stuff with her, but I just end up encouraging her to play by herself. On the other hand, I'm really lonely being at home all day by myself and I don't feel very connected with many friends anymore. Sure I have a few playgroups and whatnot, but the effort to get out of the house doesn't seem worth it. This seems to have intensified now with the baby because it just ups the stakes of getting out of the house and he detests the carseat.

Am I the only one who feels this way? Can anyone else relate?

Mightymoo - Mom to DD (6) and DS (4)
#2 of 7 Old 10-01-2005, 01:15 AM

I don't feel this way but that's because everyone is different. Maybe this situation is not what is best for your family and there's no reason not to maybe try to shake things up a bit to see if you can't work out a solution. Maybe a part time job or even a volunteer job a couple hours here and there would help, especially if there's a trusted friend/family member willing to babysit? Or maybe a mother's helper to come over to play a bit so you could have a little break- even a high school student after school or something just to play won't cost much.