How to make productive use of my time...while sahm 'career wise' - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 12-22-2005, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay I am home I like being home but I have the nagging fear that if for whatever reason I had to go back, or wanted to when the kids are older...I will be unemployable....

so I'd like to feel 'employable' not out of the loop without being employed.

So my questions are what can I do?
I was thinking of starting my mba through distance education.
or doing some professional courses for my field.
Or joining some type of 'club'

any thoughts?

8 might be enough
#2 of 12 Old 12-22-2005, 03:33 AM

What field are you in? I'm a student, but I'm going to be a SAHM and taking a break from school for awhile with the new baby. Since I am a dietetics student and my future goal is to become a lactation consultant, I'm thinking of possibly looking into becoming a LLL leader during the time I'm at home. So that's how I'm working toward my career goals while SAH. Online classes are a great thing as well.
#3 of 12 Old 12-23-2005, 11:42 AM

I'm not sure what you do professionally but is it possible you can volunteer at an organization in your field. I am currently a SAHM and I am voluntering my consulting services to the birth center I used, I will be helping them with grants and board work. Aside from a couple of meetings where I can bring my baby if need be, the work can be done in my down time at home. I figure its a great way to keep my experience fresh. Maybe you can do something like that.

HTH

Shay

Mothering since 1992...its one of the many hats I wear.
#4 of 12 Old 12-24-2005, 09:30 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)