Feeling Down - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 01-07-2006, 01:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone. I'm Megan, mom to two wonderful kids. I finished my degree last April and have been staying at home with my 3 year old daughter since. On Aug. 31, I had a beautiful baby boy. I'm so happy with the decision to stay home with my children. It's funny how my career plans didn't seem so important once I became a mommy.

I'm planning on starting a home daycare when my son is a bit older.

My problem is with my husband and I. I do not feel close to him at all. I also do not feel physically attracted to him. I almost feel dead inside when I think of us as a couple. I feel a lot of resentment towards my dh as he doesn't help much with the kids. He will do things if I specifically ask him for help but otherwise he just does his own thing (basically watches tv or plays hockey a few times per week). I feel that he is not understanding and he makes little comments about things that really upset me. For instance, I asked him to bring home an elliptical trainer (he can use one for free from his work). I hate using it and it really hurts my knees. Dh was complaining about the mess in the basement and how cluttered it is. I told him to bring back the elliptical trainer and we'd have more room. He said that I should use it since it is here and I told him that I just wasn't into it. As I was walking away, he said, "well then just keep getting bigger and bigger". I was livid! How insensitive can you get? He always makes little cutting remarks like this and when I get upset he tells me to "deal with it" and that he shouldn't have to walk on eggshells around me.

I'm sorry this is so long. I think I just needed to vent as I don't really know if there is any solution for how I'm feeling.
#2 of 3 Old 01-07-2006, 02:13 AM