Ever feel too dependent? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 32 Old 07-11-2006, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(on your husband?) by staying home ... I mean - no career to fall back on, no making your own way (for now), etc ... The thing is, you never know. It scares me to death and keeps me up nights.

my situation is not typical but neither would I say unique. My husband has a serious illness, and when he was hospitalized on the stroke unit last year we did not know if, how much, or when he would recover. I panicked and sold all his stock and alas 3 1/2 months later he was able to return to work (and quite angry) but I was afraid we couldn't pay the mortgage. I had a self-taught crash course in independent bill-paying and decision making (as he was non-verbal for a time).

Across the hall was the traumatic brain injury unit, and there was a man there with 4 small kids who was in a car accident driving home from work, and paralyzed (permanent). His wife had also been a SAHM.

I'm wondering what other SAHM's do that's practical, to calm these fears (besides ST and LT disability and life insurance) - do you go to school or attend training "just in case", etc? I feel like I should / MUST do something. to top it off, our marriage has become VERY rocky. It's killing me not knowing if and how I could support my family if and when I have to, and also the thought of leaving my babies with a stranger.
#2 of 32 Old 07-11-2006, 04:34 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Sorry I can't be of more help. I think that my number one problem with being a SAHM is the dependence. I do not feel secure. I know that I do not have the means to leave dh if I needed to, and that if he left me, I wouldn't have a penny to get by. I have always been an overly independent person, so I know that it probably bothers me more than it should.