Help! Want to be SAHM but would have to quit high paying job? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 29 Old 12-21-2007, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
For the last two years, I have been going around and around in my head as to what to do. I have a 2 1/2 year old son, Adam, a one year old daughter and a newborn. I also have a $60,000 a year job that comes with a company car, gas, American Express for lunches and expenses and a phone with unlimited use. In addition, I have the option of home office Fridays where I can generally work from home by phone and computer. I have been with this company for 7 years and it is a position that was made for me. I am a social worker in healthcare and know that this is a "once in a lifetime position". The problem is that this job requires overnight travel and some long days. I have completely lost my desire to work away from my children. We are also lucky in that my husband is able to work Thursday, Friday and Saturday shifts at night from 6-6 and every other Sunday so one of us is always able to be home with the kids and we don't need daycare. He makes about $55,000 and has the option to work a ton of overtime hours and is very willing to do so if I want to stay home and homeschool when the time comes. I go back to work off maternity leave on January 7th. We have decided to try to live off my husbands salary for 6 months and put away my entire income to see if we could make do. If that doesn't work then I thought about becoming a teacher so that my schedule would also coincide with the kids. Here is my question...has anyone else given up a high paying job and what is the dirty (and hopefully good) truth of the situation? Also, if you are a SAHM, please give me the ups and downs too. Thanks so much for any help you can offer.
#2 of 29 Old 12-21-2007, 07:25 PM