Do you cook from scratch EVERY DAY? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 157 Old 02-12-2008, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I cook our dinners from scratch every night. I don't use anything prepackaged (well I do use canned veggies sometimes). My friends who SAH think I am odd. We very rarely go out or order pizza etc. This is not onlly for financial reasons.
I consider it part of my job to prepare meals....as well as childcare and house cleaning.
What about you?

Vanessa belly.gif, wife to Kev , mama to Byron (5) wild.gif and Billie (2) and  due in June
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 157 Old 02-12-2008, 04:17 PM

Almost 99% from scratch. I don't think it's weird........but I'm also a chef, so it's easy for me. We do get pizza about 2x a month.

: Mama to ds (5) and dd (3) and .
#3 of 157 Old 02-12-2008, 04:22 PM

yep,everyday.we make our own pizza too.the kids would love it if we got takeout sometime though!
#4 of 157 Old 02-12-2008, 04:22 PM
Banned

I am a SAHM of the "there are two separate jobs here" mentality.

I consider parenting my three kids--15, 11 & 8 mos old--to be my primary job.

I consider the homemaker/house-cleaner job to be my secondary job.

Therefore, if I am afforded more hands-on time with my kids by taking advantage of some convenience food items when preparing dinner, then I do.

I would say, on average, I'm probably a 75%-from scratch cook.
#5 of 157 Old 02-12-2008, 04:29 PM
Fay

No, I do not cook from scratch every night.