Would you SAH if your husband/partner had to work two jobs for you to do it? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 33 Old 05-10-2008, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I lost our baby two days ago and DH is trying to convince me to stay at home for a few months to recover. And then he wants to get pregnant again soon and he wants me home from the day I conceive to the day the kid weans, at least.

We planned for me to stay home after the baby that we were supposed to have in December was born anyway, but his child support shot way up and we need my income now.

BUT- He's interviewing for a part time job now that pays nearly double what my part time job pays (I'm a student and don't work full time). He's heavily hinting for me to cut down my hours dramatically (to zero, or on an as need basis is what he'd prefer) and I only work 20 hours per week as it is. I'd feel bad about quitting now, especially since the boys don't need me nearly as much as they did and I'm not pregnant or nursing. But, OTOH, I'd love nothing more that to be home for them more and take better care of our house.

Is it okay for one adult in a house to work two jobs while the other works none?

Body, I've been more than patient. Please make a baby. Please?
always loving my babies. (May 08)(April 09)(August 09)(September 09) (December 10)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 33 Old 05-10-2008, 06:48 PM

My partner does it. He can make so much more working a few extra hours at a part-time job on the weekend than I could working during the week, especially if I had to pay for childcare.
#3 of 33 Old 05-10-2008, 06:52 PM

I'm so sorry for your loss.

To answer your question, yes! I think so. Especially if your husband is really behind it (for the right reasons, not cro-magnon "man work, woman cook" reasons).