on blogger: how do I make links come up in a new window? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 8 Old 01-09-2009, 03:35 AM - Thread Starter
 
dearmama22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
.... I would like my links that I have in my post to open in a new window instead of in the current window, does anyone know how to do this? Thank you!
dearmama22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 of 8 Old 01-09-2009, 10:24 AM
 
3pink1blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
you have to know html to do this. When you are inserting your link, click over from compose mode to html. then enter this code where you want the link to be.

< a href="http://www.thepageyouwanttolinkto.com" target="_blank">
The text you want clickable</a>

when you use that code, you're going to want to take the space out between the opening tag and the a. I put a space in so it would display correctly here.

FTR - this works for ANY website, not just blogger.
3pink1blue is offline  
#3 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 12:17 AM - Thread Starter
 
dearmama22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3pink1blue View Post
you have to know html to do this. When you are inserting your link, click over from compose mode to html. then enter this code where you want the link to be.

< a href="http://www.thepageyouwanttolinkto.com" target="_blank">
The text you want clickable</a>

when you use that code, you're going to want to take the space out between the opening tag and the a. I put a space in so it would display correctly here.

FTR - this works for ANY website, not just blogger.

So, I copy that entire thing and my link into the " link" thing?
dearmama22 is offline  
#4 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 12:29 AM
 
3pink1blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
no. start writing a post, okay. and then if you look in the righthand corner of the text box, it says html and compose. Click the html tab. This now shows all your html code. Put that code in right before the text you want linked.

Now put the site in where I showed you, and the linked text in. Now look in the right hand corner again and click compose. It brings you right back to the wysiwyg editor that you're used to. now do everything that you're used to. just repeat those steps every time you want a link to open in a new window.
3pink1blue is offline  
#5 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter
 
dearmama22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
THANK YOU!!!
dearmama22 is offline  
#6 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 12:44 AM
 
ian'smommaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In the apothecary working with the fae.
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
HIJACK!


can i ask an html question? well actually two.
one. how do you write the code that says an address but shorter like say MY BLOG and have it link to blogger/mayamade.com or whatever my blog addy is (i can never remember)
and two is that the same dealio when i write the html and i can call it anything and have it link to any addy right?

Visit the Holiday Helper thread and join in on the giving and fun! Loving and working with the plants. I have a store! or two!
ian'smommaya is offline  
#7 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 12:53 AM
 
3pink1blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ok, that's simple. so like, what youre saying is, you want the words MY BLOG to be clickable, then when you click it, it goes to your blog, right?

It's pretty much the same code as above, except you're going to leave out the target_blank. Here is an example:


< a href="http://twitter.com/ninjamomma">Follow me on Twitter!</a>

notice there is an extra space between the first tag and the a. You need to take that space out, or the code won't work. so long as the url is valid, you can make any text link to any site.

I'm thinking I should write a blog post about this stuff, like a FAQ for MDC blog mamas. Cause I bet you are going to ask me how to make a picture clickable next.
3pink1blue is offline  
#8 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 01:15 AM
 
ian'smommaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In the apothecary working with the fae.
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
thanks so much.

so how do you make a clickable pic? hey...you brought it up.

Visit the Holiday Helper thread and join in on the giving and fun! Loving and working with the plants. I have a store! or two!
ian'smommaya is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off