"Anti-breeder" is now a Step-Dad - Mothering Forums
View Poll Results: Do you really love the step-kids?
Yes! 14 45.16%
They are growing on me. 5 16.13%
I like them a lot. 3 9.68%
I tolerate them. 9 29.03%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

1 2 
Blended and Step Family Parenting > "Anti-breeder" is now a Step-Dad
cakoala's Avatar cakoala 03:15 AM 12-07-2008
Hello, I am the "anti-breeder." Please excuse the catchy subject line, but I am looking for a lot input on my situation, particularly around gaining a VERY quick education on attachment parenting.

A quick explanation; I have some very well thought out theories around who and who shouldn't have children. I fully recognize that I do not have the "breeders chromosome." I don't find babies beautiful, little toddlers charming, or preschoolers precious. But, I have fallen deeply in love with the mother of three children; 5, 11, and 14. We are both in psychology. I am a third year student, and she is a practicing therapist working on her doctorate. We have the tools and the temperament. But, as you might guess, I have not been concerned (until now) with parenting. Instead, my focus has been on adult positive and personality psychology.

I would like to keep this thread positive. If you would like to address my views on reasons for conception, PLEASE, lets start a new thread. RIGHT NOW, I need input on good reading for a step parent. Particularly one that likes, but does not love the children. So, put your mind in motion, what book, website, or other resource would you recommend to someone that is basically kind, intelligent, playful, but un-enamored with children?

I need to understand how to do "attachment parenting" when your not coming from your "place of love." Luckily, I don't have to do any of the early co-sleeping, breastfeeding, and other 'baby' related issues. I admit that the 5 year old is my greatest mystery. The other two are cognitive and react in predictive ways to cognitive behaviorist treatment.