Anyone's new man move into home you bought with X? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 12-18-2010, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am looking to hear other's experiences with this situation. How did it work out?  DD#2's dad is living in the home I originally bought with dd#1's dad (the x) and it has almost all of the furnishings.  My man didn't bring much with him as he came here  from quite a distance, just what he could fit in his vechicle. He has mentioned to me that he feels like he's living another man's life...it doesn't feel like HIS home. I did get it signed over in the divorce and I have wecomed my man to change it as he sees fit. There's still some of X's junk in garage waiting for me to rent a dumpster but money is tight.   DBF rearranged the bedroom furniture which helped.  He's a painter by trade but has yet to paint anything.  My hands are tied financially at this point.  My credit is so bad from the divorce I stand little chance of ever owning a home besides this one. Plus I like it here. His credit is horrible too.  For the sake of the relationship I am considering letting the home go by short sale or other and just rent something smallre together with him and the girls to get a fresh start. comments? opinions? Thanks!

#2 of 13 Old 12-18-2010, 07:03 AM

I would take a deep breath and not do anything rash. Get X's junk out of there....any way to get X to claim it? Can you put it on the lawn with a free sign? Goodwill? Amvets (that take some odd stuff)?

Getting painting. I know you said he has yet, but painting is a joint project....find colors you like and have him make the final color choices.....help him make connections in the home.....while he is painting seduce him. Then remind him what you two did while painting that room occasionally. or Maybe after he is done painting a room make sure to tell him what makes the room perfect/beautiful is him.