Having a hard time step-parenting - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 06-04-2011, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is my first time on this forum but maybe you can help. I am a child of divorced parents and DH is not. I have two children that I have full custody of and DH has one that he shares custody with (we have him half the week). During mom's half of the week DSS usually stays with her mom (grandma) so he ends up with three homes. DSS is 10. 

My issue is that when we pick up DSS he often has left something at someone else's house. We pick him up from baseball and he is in his uniform with no clothes to change into or shoes. He often leaves his backpack or other item at mom's when we pick him up from grandma's or vice versa. We all live with 10 minutes drive of each other but I still feel he needs to learn how to be responsible and remember things he needs. Of course he needs to be taught this. Mom and grandma don't think it is a big deal to drive all over getting things from each others houses and DH gets mad at me when I say he needs to have a talk with them and DSS about being prepared when we pick him up. DH thinks I am being a nag and that there is nothing he can do about it so leave it alone. I feel that I am not asking anything I wouldn't ask of my biological children (ages 8 and 12) or anything that wasn't expected of me when I went back and forth with my parents.