Handling household finances--boyfriend--my kids - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 06-17-2012, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all. My boyfriend and I have been together for 3+ years, living together for most of it. I have 2 daughters, ages 7 and 11, and our lives are intertwined in every way, most of the time happily. But we're fighting about money a lot lately and I've run out of ideas. Hoping you can help.

I'm a nursing student, working part time... Including child support, I bring in $900-$1200/month. Not a lot. My boyfriend makes twice that, but handles everything with cash because he doesn't have a bank account. All of the household bills are in my name, but sometimes he will log on to the bill accounts and pay with his prepaid debit cards.

he generally feels ok about each paying for things when we can, and he feels that he pays for stuff that is "not his responsibility", because he helps pay for the kids when we're going out for meals, movies, etc, and groceries, even though he doesn't eat much of the food.

Most of the time, I'm ok with us paying for what we can, when wee can. But sometimes it feels out of wack, like lately, especially when I don't have money t do extra curricular activities, but we're still doing them, because he offers to pay for them. I spent $300 on groceries and household stuff (mop, sponges, TP, etc) this week, and Things are getting automatically debited from my account, and so when I expected him to pay for groceries yesterday because I have spent so much, things blew up.