step child adjustment - Mothering Forums
Blended and Step Family Parenting > step child adjustment
clarwyn's Avatar clarwyn 03:07 PM 06-09-2013
hi, this is my first time posting in this area of the forums. DH and I have been married for 2.5 years and are about to TTC our first child. this plan has been set up for a long time and I'm not looking to delay it, but I have a worry. DH has a 5 yr old son. we have been together since the kid was a baby; I have never met him and DH hasn't seen him since he was a month old. he lives with other relatives he believes are his parents, and doesn't know we exist. birth mom wanted us to leave it alone, and for a long time we did. then she died. we have spoken to a lawyer who says we have no chance at custody now, because we waited too long; but we could try for visitation. every time we've talked about doing that, we've run into financial or transportation problems that forced us to delay. my worry is, I know that if we do succeed in getting time with him, it's going to be traumatic for him just because his life is a lie. a friend of mine went thro this and told me she wishes her birth parents had stayed out of the picture. but it's painful for us, not being able to have a connection with him... anyway my worry is, will it be even harder for him if we have a child before we succeed in meeting him. I've heard horror stories about kids coming into a family out of birth order. I don't know if that applies, since he is already a member of our family, he just doesn't know it. how upset would you be if you found out you had been kept away from your real family? (note - the relatives aren't actual blood relatives.) would it be worse if you had a younger sibling? would that matter? is it better to just leave it alone, and let him find us when he grows up and sees his birth certificate?

LLQ1011's Avatar LLQ1011 11:12 PM 06-09-2013

Why had he not seen him so long.