Blending the family of a deceased spouse - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 09-19-2013, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Just wanted to bring up a very difficult subject today.  Occasionally, like in our family, small children are the victims of a deceased parent.  Our sister passed away leaving a 2 year old and 6 year old little girl.  Since their father has remarried our relationship with the girls is limited at best.  IF any of you are in that similar situation, I would love to know how your family is handling it.  My ex brother-in-laws new wife is so insecure and jealous of my sister she does not want any of us to have a relationship with the girls.  Very sad and like losing my sister all over again.

#2 of 5 Old 09-20-2013, 09:46 AM

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
I'm so sorry for your loss. How hard. I have no personal experience when it comes to small children, but my sister died last October and left behind 3 girls who are older. Two are older teens, and I can keep in touch with them no problem, but my BIL is keeping the youngest away from me. I have to trust that time will help heal the rift, and that his heart will soften and start to let in some of the people he's shut out.
In your case, I think I'd appeal to your ex BIL.
Also, if they end up having children of their own, perhaps the new wife will soften and accept your involvement, as being helpful if nothing else.
Take care.

dust.gifFour-eyed tattooed fairy godmother queer, mama to my lucky star (5) and little bird (2.5). Resident storyteller at www.thestoryforest.com. Enchanting audiostories for curious kids. Come play in the forest!
#3 of 5 Old 09-20-2013, 03:49 PM