What to do when dss doesn't want to come with us? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-23-2005, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello-

I am step mother to a son who will be 3 in Dec. My dh and I were dating when he found out that he had a child on the way. I have been around since before birth. Anyway, once paternity was established at dh's insitance he was awarded joint custody, visitation, etc. We see him regularly ever since he was about 5 mths. old. We actually see him more than that. We do more than standard visit minimum. For about the last 3 to 4 months he has been of and on doing this thing where he cries or says he wants to stay with his mommy. I feel that this is normal. I have had extensive experience w/seperation anxiety and this is a mild case IMO. However, the prob is that his mommy won't make him come. She sort of makes it worse. We are considerate of her and make sure to call about 5 min after we leave to let her know he's already calmed down and fine when he does this. So I normally pick up and I just take him rather he's crying or not. Again, this is normal and is probably brought on by the fact that she has a live in boyfriend who she's on again of again with. This creates turmoil and leads to feelings of insecurity and clingyness IMO. But dh went to pick up today and they were having a get together and about 25 ppl were there, so what happens. Same scenario "Me want to stay with my mommy, me not want to go with you." Blah Blah Blah Don't mean to sound insensitive, but I experienced this w/my dd at that age and we established a routine so we could move through it. Dh didn't want to cause a scene so he caved after we drove 40 miles. BTW this has happend to me before too. Mother says she doesn't want to see him cry. I understand again, I've been down the road with my dd. Fact is 2 yo aren't old enough to decide not to visit. Especially when its motivated by the fact that they just want to st