having issues with my son and DH (stepparent) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-26-2006, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi. I'm new to this particular forum, but it's exactly what I need! I'll try to keep this as short as possible as I really need some advice. I have a DS, 10 y/o, from a previous marriage. DH and I have been married since DS was 7. When DH and I first met, he and DS were immediately attatched at the hip (very little actual contibution from his bio dad) and I was thrilled. After a while the new wore off and as DS is getting older, he has become less "loveable" in that little kid kind of way. Now we constantly argue about discipline, homeschooling, chores/lack of, attitude--basically everything regarding DS. I see DH as being too tough on him. I think he has higher expectations for DS than for himself. That really pisses me off. For example, he expects DS to keep all his messes cleaned up and to volunteer to help around the house frequently, neither of which does he do himself: ! When I try to explain that to him, he just gets madder and says I'm changing the focus to him rather that DS's various problems. He also speaks to him in a disrespectful way (such as demanding instead of asking for things) and DS has started to show disrespect also. When I suggest that he change first, he says that is ludicrous, that "he is the adult", yadda, yadda, yadda. Help!
#2 of 8 Old 05-27-2006, 03:03 AM

I don't have an easy answer as to how he'll "get it"- but one day, probably, he will. I'd suggest you try asking him if he'd speak to his friends like that- his workmates like that- his brothers like that. That's what worked for me.
Occasionally my dh (stepdad) still sinks backwards and just yells and throws discipline around without thinking about the consequences- but more often these days he makes an effort to think before he acts.