oh so proud- sarcastic vent - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 08-03-2008, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
19yo SS....

lives with us.

I got invited to join facebook. When I logged in, it actually goes through your email addresses and shows you who has a facebook account. Well, who pops up but my dear ss... his picture showing him doing a beer bong.

Just couldn't be more proud. I was so embarrassed. There are people from our church that are on his friend list, not to mention his younger two cousins that totally look up to him. And here he is with a funnel hose to his mouth.

Husband told him to change his picture because I am a teacher and anyone who searches our last name will see that, not to mention that we are very actively involved in our church. Not that we really have any control over his actions, but still.

I've just hit an all time low with this. It's a little thing, to be sure, but it's just one of those "straw that breaks the camel's back" type of things that I'm sure we've all had.

Then to top it off, he asks to stay out last night. The stipulation was that he show up for church this morning on time, in physical capacity to stay awake, etc. because we had family here. Didn't show.

I really had to bite my tongue to tell DH "told you so" because there was no way in you know where that I would have allowed him to go out. But, DH felt that his recent good behavior should be rewarded... and unfortunately, I was right. When DH said "you were right" I didn't even feel smug or justified. I just felt sad that our beer bonging DSS had disappointed the great measure of faith my husband tried to place on him. He was irked and upset. I just didn't have the heart to be self-righteous. I just felt sad and MAD at DSS for being such a jerk.