Opinions/thoughts please, renting doppler for homebirth? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 11-30-2005, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know most people hated it, but one thing I found reassuring in the hospital was being able to hear the baby's heart beat on the monitor, it is the main reason I waited so long before asking for the Csect. (with the pitocin I didn't have the option of moving around anyway) We considered hiring a doula that could also check heart tones, but really can't afford it with having to pay out of pocket for part of the homebirth. When dh and I talked about it the main reason I wanted her was just to listen to the baby periodically so that I would feel safe (very important to me since we are having an HBAC and I don't want fear to stall my labor). He suggested just renting a doppler and checking ourselves. I have never used one before, is it easy, or would it be more trouble than it is worth, tell me your thought please.
#2 of 8 Old 11-30-2005, 06:33 PM

Do you have a mw? Usually the mw has a doppler or fetoscope and can do intermittant checking. CEFM of course in a homebirth is out. I would definitely have someone with a doppler or fetoscope around if possible.
#3 of 8 Old 11-30-2005, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter

Oh yes, I have midwife but she won't necessarily be there in the early part of labor. I figured I could use the doppler to listen and reassure myself until she was able to be there. The other option is a fetoscope, but I wasnt' sure how well that would work since I am plus size.
#4 of 8 Old 12-01-2005, 11:12 AM

I see. I don't think using one is hard but your husband would have to learn, you might not be able to concentrate enough to count.
#5 of 8 Old 12-01-2005, 12:10 PM