I need some work at home ideas.... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 10-24-2005, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
As some of you know, we are going to Bend, Or this week to consider a potential relocation. This trip was planned before we found out we were pg.

Anyway, I am a massage therapist at the Ritz Carlton, and I make excellent money. I know they don't make nearly as much on the mainland, and am okay with that. My problem is if we did indeed move in January, no one is going to want to hire a MT that is pregnant, especially one that is going to take 2 months off during the busy season (summer). That is why we have considered just staying here until May so I can work and take 3 months off and look for work after that.

Now, to my point ...does anyone have any ideas for a home business that could supplement income if we did indeed move to Bend in January and I could not find work doing massage. I know I could always do private massage practice, but I'm not sure of the market there yet.

Any advice is much appreciated.
#2 of 5 Old 10-24-2005, 04:54 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
What sorts of things interest you? What do you have experience doing? Do you make crafts? Do you have herbal knowledge? Can you sew diapers? Do tie-dye? There are really sooooo many options, I think it just depends on what interests you the most. You might want to stay in the MT area of work since you have lots of experience, and just advertise yourself strongly once you get to Bend. If you go into private practice, you would have a lot more control over your schedule and such. The whole holistic health field is big out here in OR. We just moved to Portland a few months ago from WI, and it is a huge change as far as how open people are to the holistic health field.

Erika, mama to three beautiful kids (plus one gestating), and wife to one fantastic man.

#3 of 5 Old 10-25-2005, 12:34 AM