talk to me about Siberian cats. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 03-05-2009, 01:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Our family is thinking about getting a cat. I'm allergic to most cats but I've had some experience with siberians and I don't generally have a reaction to them. I don't really know much about the breed though other than they don't make me sneeze. I like cats but I don't have that much experience with them because of my allergy. I'm more of a dog kind of girl.

What sort of questions should I be asking breeders? What sorts of health tests are recommended? Is there anything about the temperament I should know about. The siberians I know were good with kids. Is that typical?

We have 2 children, 4 & 8 and a 1 yo beagle. It will probably be at least a year before we want to bring a kitten home but I want to start exploring breeders now.

Also recommendations for other breeds that might not make me sneeze would be welcome

Let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and humility, mirth and reverence within you.)0(
#2 of 14 Old 03-05-2009, 02:02 AM

I don't support breeders. I'm in animal rescue and can't justify supporting the breeding of animals who have millions of their species homeless already.

If allergies are an issue, volunteer at a local shelter and get involved in cat fostering. That will let you know how your body will adjust to a particular cat without making a commitment you cannot uphold.

There are no truly hypoallergenic cats. Pet allergies depend on your immune system, your exposure (sometimes more pet exposure is better), your air quality, the pet's food, the pet's health, the pet's grooming, and more. If you decide to foster or do a trial, get an air purifier and vacuum daily with a hepa filter vacuum. Feed high quality food and have another family member brush the cat regularly.
#3 of 14 Old 03-05-2009, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter