How often does your dog go outside? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-28-2010, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to this dog ownership thing. We adopted a 2 year old German Shepherd/Black Lab mix from the animal shelter 3 months ago. She is a moderate to high energy dog. I'm just wondering how her outside pee/exercise/play time compares to other dogs. I want to make sure I am giving her everything she needs.

Typical weekday schedule
8:40- Goes in the backyard by herself to "take care of business" comes back in in about 5 minutes.
9:20- We walk for about an hour or so while she is wearing her backpack weighted down with water bottles.
1:00ish-I take her outside for 30-45 minutes to play
4:00- outside for at least 45 minutes. Can be longer if she is playing with my son and friends.
6:45ish- 20 to 30 minutes to play.
about midnight- final 5 minute break before my dh and I go to bed.

She will go longer without going out when I am out running errands, appointments etc. or if we go somewhere on the weekend. We will also take her hiking with us on the weekends.

So is this too little? Too much? Tell me about your dog??

Mom to Zach eat.gif , 2 cat.gif, 1dog2.gif, and a whole lot of goldfish.gif!!!! 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-28-2010, 12:57 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
My dogs are much older, but they go out about every 4 hours. They can hold it much longer, but I just like for them to try about that often. When they were younger, they would want to spend more time outside (2 walks a day at least and an hour of play time at a dog park with other dogs). Now, they don't even want to go outside.

If your pup seems frustrated you may need more time outside. It depends on each dog.

sounds like you are doing good though.

SAHM to Chloe«- 6/2008 (10 lbs, 5 oz), Hannah- 9/2010 (9 lbs, 12 oz), Liam- 2/2013 (9 lbs, 6 oz)

Old 10-28-2010, 01:02 PM

That sounds like lots to me.