2 golden labs howling when babies cry - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 02-13-2011, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've got a friend who has a toddler and a young baby. Apparently her dogs howl when the babies cry, and exacerbate the situation. She has no idea what to do. I've one GSD who never really reacted to my crying babe, so I've no specific experience in this area.

She is very frustrated with it, and nothing she is trying is stopping it. Any ideas out there?  

Mother caffix.gif to DD born Jan 2008 and DS born Nov 2011. 

#2 of 13 Old 02-13-2011, 07:24 PM

Maybe she's already tried this, but this is what I think I'd do; when the baby starts to cry, they (mum or dp) could bring the dogs to their bed or crate, and give them a treat. Have a nice bone or stuffed kong ready, and when the baby cries, those could be brought to the dogs crate or bed, and they will hopefully start associating the crying with good things. 

Mama to my 2 boys
#3 of 13 Old 02-14-2011, 06:08 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks! Positive association is a tactic I've used with my dog to good effect... but then I've never contended with 2 crying babes under 3 and 2 howling dogs! bow2.gif to any mama who can remain cool in such a situation!  

I'll pass on your advice!

#4 of 13 Old 02-19-2011, 05:10 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)

I am going to try this when I practice piano -- our Bernese whimpers, prowls, and starts to smell bad.  She does this during the second half of my La Boheme CD, too, but DS1 says that's because she's bred for intelligence.

Empty-nesting SAHM to DS1 (1989), DS2 (1992), an underachieving Bernese Mountain Dog (2006-2014), and an overachieving mother (1930).  Married to DH since 1986.
#5 of 13 Old 02-19-2011, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter

How interesting! And your dog only gets into this state in these 2 particular situations?